Indoor and electric ovens
The best indoor and electric pizza ovens
Five electric ovens, and one constraint that shapes all of them: a household outlet. Here is what 1,600 watts can and cannot do to a pizza.

The short answer
The Ooni Volt 2 is the pick: 850 F on a standard 120 V outlet, drawing about 13.3 A, with an adaptive control system built around holding temperature through consecutive bakes. The Breville Pizzaiolo is the better oven for New York and pan styles, because it lets you control which heating elements run. The Ninja Woodfire is outdoor-only and, at 1,700 W, needs its outdoor circuit to itself — read the specs before you buy it. The Cuisinart CPZ-120 is the box to buy for pan styles — stone, peel and a deep-dish pan included — if you accept a 700 F ceiling and a full 15 A draw.
Why the ceiling is 850 F and not 950
Because of the wall socket. A standard North American circuit is 120 V at 15 A, which is 1,800 W flat out before any headroom. The Ooni Volt 2 draws 1,600 W — about 13.3 A — and that is the entire energy budget available for heating a chamber and holding it there. 850 F is what good insulation plus 1,600 W achieves.
The Ninja Woodfire draws 1,700 W, about 14.2 A — close to the full rating of a 15 A circuit, and SharkNinja itself lists the oven at 15 A. It is an outdoor appliance because it burns pellets for smoke, not because of its draw. And it still only reaches 700 F, because it is also heating a much larger chamber. The power requirements guide works through what your own kitchen can supply.
That gap is smaller than it sounds
The comparison that matters is not electric against a 950 F gas oven. It is electric against the oven you currently use, which tops out somewhere around 500 to 550 F — a gap worked through in full in pizza oven vs regular oven.
850 F against 550 F is a 300 F difference, and it changes the pizza completely: a base that browns in 90 seconds rather than eight minutes sets a crisp shell over a soft, still-moist interior, which is the texture people are chasing. Going from 850 F to 950 F is a further refinement. Going from 550 F to 850 F is a different food.
| Oven | Fuel | Max pizza | Peak temp | Stone | Weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ooni Volt 2 | Electric | 12" | 850 F | 0.4" | 38.8 lb |
| Breville Pizzaiolo | Electric | 12" | 750 F | not published | not published |
| Chefman Indoor 800 | Electric | 12" | 800 F | not published | 23.32 lb |
| Cuisinart CPZ-120 | Electric | 12" | 700 F | 0.31" | 25 lb |
| Ninja Woodfire OO101 | Electric | 12" | 700 F | not published | 32.4 lb |
Every figure is the maker's own published number. Blank cells mean the maker does not publish it, which is a finding rather than an omission on our part.
Quick picks
Ranked for fit, not for hype. Every figure below is the maker’s own published number, and “n/p” means they do not publish it — which is itself worth knowing. Tap a row for the full write-up, or go straight to the listing.
| # | Oven | Best for | Max pizza | Weight | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Ooni Volt 21600 W on a standard 120 V outlet, and 850 F on a stone floor. | 850 F on a normal kitchen outlet | 12" | 38.8 lb | $698.95 · Check on Amazon |
| 2 | Breville Pizzaiolo750 F and a manual mode that lets you choose which heating elements run. | Control over the individual elements | 12" | n/p | $999.95 · Check on Amazon |
| 3 | Ninja Woodfire OO1011,700 W outdoors, 105 F to 700 F, and a pellet box that puts genuine wood smoke into an electric oven. | Electric outdoors, with real smoke | 12" | 32.4 lb | $287.27 · Check on Amazon-28% |
| 4 | Chefman Indoor 800A 12 in countertop oven that publishes an 800 F peak, a 300 F low end and a 1,700 W draw. | Entry-level countertop oven with published specs | 12" | 23.32 lb | $199.98 · Check on Amazon-60% |
| 5 | Cuisinart CPZ-120The best-equipped box in the indoor category — stone, peel and a deep-dish pan included, on a three-year warranty — b... | Pan pizza and a long warranty | 12" | 25 lb | $385.00 · Check on Amazon |
| 6 | Unicook cordierite stone6.8 lb of cordierite, rectangular so it uses the whole rack. | The kitchen oven you already own | 12" | 6.8 lb | $29.99 · Check on Amazon-9% |
Max pizza and weight are the makers’ published figures, sourced on each write-up below. Neither is a measurement we took, and no column here is a score — we have not cooked on these ovens and will not pretend otherwise.

Top pick · 850 F on a normal kitchen outlet
Ooni Volt 2 Electric Indoor Pizza Oven
Ooni · Electric
1600 W on a standard 120 V outlet, and 850 F on a stone floor. It is the only oven here that turns a kitchen counter into something close to a pizzeria deck.
Published specification
- Power
- 120 V / 1600 W, standard North America Type B plug
- Temperature
- 70 F to 850 F (450 C)
- Stone
- Cordierite, 0.4 in (10 mm)
- External size
- 21.5" x 17.4" x 10.4"
- Opening height
- 3.6 in
- Weight
- 38.8 lb
- Body
- Powder-coated carbon steel, triple-paned tempered glass door
- Placement
- Indoor use only
What it does well
- 1600 W draws about 13.3 A, which fits inside a standard 15 A North American kitchen circuit — that is the whole reason this oven is practical. See power requirements
- A proof mode that goes down to 70 F means the same appliance proofs the dough it later bakes
- Triple-paned glass and a filtered exhaust are why this can live in a kitchen and a Koda cannot
- 850 F is roughly 300 F hotter than a domestic oven's maximum, which is the entire difference in crust
What you give up
- 0.4 in stone is the thinnest floor in this registry. Consecutive bakes need recovery time and the oven's control system spends its effort managing exactly that
- 850 F, not 950 F: a true 60-second Neapolitan is out of reach and Ooni does not claim it
- 3.6 in of opening height rules out deep pan builds
- Indoor use only, stated by Ooni — this is not an outdoor oven that also works inside
Buy it if
Apartments, winter, and anyone whose real obstacle is that the oven has to live indoors.
Skip it if
Anyone whose target is a 60-second, 950 F Neapolitan.
Where these numbers came from

Pick 2 · Control over the individual elements
Breville Smart Oven Pizzaiolo (BPZ820BSS)
Breville · Electric
750 F and a manual mode that lets you choose which heating elements run. It is the only indoor oven here that lets you deliberately char the base without cooking the toppings past done.
Published specification
- Max temperature
- 750 F
- Max pizza
- 12 in
- Presets
- Wood Fired, New York, Pan, Thin & Crispy, Frozen
- Manual mode
- Choose Crust Only (charred base) or Even Heat
- Control
- Element IQ element-by-element heat management
- Door
- Double-pane heat-resistant window, insulated chamber
- Included
- Pizza peel and pizza pan
What it does well
- Independent element control is the feature no other indoor oven offers, and it is the direct fix for a base that browns before the top does
- Named presets for New York and pan styles, not just a temperature dial — the styles most home cooks actually make
- A peel and a pan are in the box
- Insulation good enough that the kitchen does not heat up around it
What you give up
- 750 F is 100 F below the Volt 2 and 200 F below every outdoor gas oven here. Neapolitan is genuinely out of range
- Breville does not publish a stone thickness or unit weight in the listing specification
- The wattage is not stated on the listing either, so you cannot check its circuit draw on paper the way you can with the Volt 2
Buy it if
The indoor cook who makes New York and pan pizza and wants deliberate control over browning.
Skip it if
A Neapolitan target, or anyone who needs to know the amperage before buying.
Where these numbers came from

Pick 3 · Electric outdoors, with real smoke
Ninja Woodfire 8-in-1 Outdoor Oven (OO101)
Ninja · Electric
1,700 W outdoors, 105 F to 700 F, and a pellet box that puts genuine wood smoke into an electric oven. It is the only appliance here that bridges the electric and wood-fired arguments.
Published specification
- Power
- 1,700 W at 120 V, rated 15 A, per SharkNinja. The Amazon listing's technical details say 1,760 W
- Temperature range
- 105 F to 700 F
- Smoke
- Half a cup of pellets per cook, in a dedicated box
- Size
- 21.5" L x 18" W x 15.1" H
- Weight
- 32.4 lb
- Functions
- Eight, including pizza, smoker, roast, bake and dehydrate
- Placement
- Outdoor
What it does well
- Real wood smoke without a fire to manage — the pellet box is the honest middle ground in the wood versus gas argument
- The widest temperature range here by a distance: 105 F to 700 F covers dehydrating through pizza in one appliance
- Electric outdoors means no cylinders, no ash, and no tank runtime arithmetic
What you give up
- 1,700 W is about 14.2 A at 120 V, so it needs a 15 A circuit with nothing else running on it — under an amp of headroom. Check the outdoor circuit before buying — see power requirements
- 700 F is the lowest ceiling in this registry; the Neapolitan preset takes about 3 minutes, not 60 seconds
- It is eight appliances in one, which means it is not the best at any of them
Buy it if
A covered patio with a suitable outlet, and a cook who wants smoke flavor without tending a fire.
Skip it if
Indoors, high-temperature Neapolitan, or an outdoor circuit it has to share.

Pick 4 · Entry-level countertop oven with published specs
Chefman High-Heat Indoor Electric Pizza Oven 800°F
Chefman · Electric
A 12 in countertop oven that publishes an 800 F peak, a 300 F low end and a 1,700 W draw. It publishes less than the Volt 2 about how it holds heat, but between Chefman and its listing you get enough numbers to check it.
Published specification
- Max temperature
- 800 F; published range 300 F to 800 F
- Max pizza
- 12 in
- Power
- 1,700 W at 120 V, per the Amazon listing. Chefman's own product page does not state a wattage
- Size
- 18.7" x 17" x 10.94"
- Weight
- 23.32 lb
- Presets
- Neapolitan, New York, Thin Crust, Pan and Frozen, plus Manual
- In the box
- Pizza stone and pizza peel
- Certification
- cETL approved; Chefman gives a 1-year assurance
What it does well
- Publishes a 300 F low end as well as the 800 F peak, so pan and frozen pizza are in range rather than only a fast bake
- A stone and a peel in the box, which removes the first accessory purchase
- At 23.32 lb it is the lightest oven on its roundup that publishes a weight
What you give up
- No published stone thickness and no published preheat time — the two numbers that predict how well it copes with consecutive pizzas
- 800 F is 50 F below the Ooni Volt 2's 850 F, which is the end of the range where a Neapolitan bake lives
- 1,700 W is about 14.2 A at 120 V, so on a 15 A kitchen circuit it needs that circuit to itself — see power requirements
Buy it if
A kitchen that wants hotter-than-domestic pizza from a countertop oven, without stepping up to a premium model.
Skip it if
Anyone chasing a 60-second Neapolitan bake, or a kitchen where the same outlet also runs a kettle or a toaster.

Pick 5 · Pan pizza and a long warranty
Cuisinart Indoor Pizza Oven, CPZ-120
Cuisinart · Electric
The best-equipped box in the indoor category — stone, peel and a deep-dish pan included, on a three-year warranty — behind the lowest peak and the highest draw. 700 F and 1,800 W are the two numbers to weigh.
Published specification
- Max temperature
- 700 F; published range 350 F to 700 F
- Max pizza
- 12 in, on a 12.5 in square stone
- Stone
- 8 mm (about 0.31 in) — the thinnest floor on this site, per authorized-retailer spec sheets
- Power
- 1,800 W at 120 V, per authorized-retailer spec sheets. Neither the Amazon listing nor the manual states a wattage, and Cuisinart's own page could not be read for this review
- Preheat
- 20 to 30 minutes, per the manual, depending on the temperature set
- Size
- 17.5" D x 19" W x 11" H
- Weight
- 25 lb
- In the box
- 12.5 in stone, wire rack, foldable peel, 12 x 12 x 1.5 in enameled deep-dish pan, crumb tray
- Controls
- Temperature dial, countdown timer, interior light, built-in cooking guide, 2-hour auto shutoff
- Placement
- Indoor only — the manual says do not use outdoors
- Warranty
- Limited three years
What it does well
- The only indoor oven here that ships with a deep-dish pan as well as a stone and a peel — the pan styles in Cuisinart's own chart (deep dish, Detroit, Sicilian, focaccia) all cook in it
- A three-year warranty against one year on the Chefman and the Ninja, and Cuisinart publishes stone thickness and weight where several rivals do not
- A 350 F low end and a published chart of eleven pizza styles, so it is usable for far more than a fast Neapolitan bake
What you give up
- 700 F is the lowest peak among the indoor ovens here, and Cuisinart's own chart gives a Neapolitan five minutes at that temperature — not the 60-to-90-second bake the style is defined by
- 1,800 W is 15.0 A at 120 V — the full rating of a standard household circuit with no headroom at all. It needs that circuit to itself; see power requirements
- An 8 mm stone stores very little heat, and Cuisinart's manual itself says to give the oven 5 to 10 minutes between pizzas if they start coming out pale
Buy it if
A household that cooks pan and New York styles more than Neapolitan, wants everything in one box, and has a kitchen outlet that nothing else shares.
Skip it if
Anyone buying an indoor oven for the fastest, hottest bake it can manage — that is the Ooni Volt 2's territory, 150 F higher.

Pick 6 · The kitchen oven you already own
Unicook 15 x 12 in Rectangular Cordierite Pizza Stone
Unicook · Accessory
6.8 lb of cordierite, rectangular so it uses the whole rack. For anyone not ready to buy an oven, this plus a hot domestic oven is the cheapest real improvement available.
Published specification
- Size
- 15 x 12 in rectangular
- Weight
- 6.8 lb
- Material
- Cordierite
- Included
- Dough scraper
What it does well
- Rectangular beats round in a domestic oven — a round stone wastes the corners of a rack
- Cordierite is porous, so it pulls moisture out of the base, which is exactly the failure mode of a domestic-oven pizza
- 6.8 lb of stored heat is the difference between a pale base and a browned one
What you give up
- A domestic oven caps out around 500 to 550 F, so no stone makes it a pizza oven. See why oven temperature is the whole game
- Cordierite is thermally shock-sensitive: it goes in a cold oven and heats with it, never onto a hot one
- Needs a long preheat — 45 minutes to an hour to be genuinely useful
Buy it if
Anyone deciding whether they care enough about pizza to buy an oven.
Skip it if
Someone who already owns a 950 F oven with a stone in it.
Where these numbers came from
What we would skip, and why
A roundup that recommends everything recommends nothing. These are on the shelf next to the picks above, and here is why they are not on the list.
VEVOR pizza steel
A pizza steel is an excellent domestic-oven accessory and it is not an indoor pizza oven. It cannot raise your oven's 550 F ceiling, and no accessory can — which is the entire reason this category exists. It is on the stones and steels page where it belongs, not here.
Indoor rating is not a detail
Check it before you plan where the oven lives. Ooni states the Volt 2 is indoor use only. The older Volt 12 was rated for indoor and outdoor, but it is no longer sold on Amazon and Ooni's own Volt 12 page now redirects to the Volt 2. The Ninja Woodfire is outdoor — it burns pellets for smoke, which rules out a kitchen.
These ratings are about ventilation, moisture and combustion, not marketing segmentation, and they are not interchangeable. The indoor versus outdoor guide covers what the rating is actually protecting.
Every electric oven here is a 12 inch oven
The Cuisinart CPZ-120 shows the other end of the constraint: at 1,800 W it draws 15.0 A, the entire rating of a standard circuit, which is the price of heating a chamber to 700 F with a fan-cooled shell. There is no 16 in electric option, and the reason is the same wattage constraint: a bigger chamber needs more power to heat, and the socket does not provide it. If you need 16 in pizzas, you need gas, and that is a hard boundary rather than a temporary gap in the market.
Two ovens on this page have full reviews of their own worth reading before you buy: the Chefman Indoor 800, which is the lightest oven here and publishes nothing about its stone, and the Ninja Artisan MO201, the newest arrival in the category, which ships four named pizza programs and draws a published 15 amps.
The two ovens at the top of this page are the ones most often cross-shopped, and they answer different questions. Ooni Volt 2 against the Ninja Artisan compares them on published figures, including the one that decides where each can live: 13.3 A against a published 15 A.
How these picks were made
We did not cook on these ovens. Every figure on this page is the maker’s or the listing’s published specification, cited on each write-up so you can check it in one click. The ranking comes from matching those published capabilities to a stated use case — space, pizza size, fuel, and how many pizzas you cook in a row. Where a maker does not publish a number, we say so instead of estimating one.
The full version of that argument, including what we deliberately do not claim, is on our methodology page.
Questions people actually ask
+What happened to the Ooni Volt 12?
+What is the best indoor pizza oven?
+Can an indoor pizza oven make Neapolitan pizza?
+Will an electric pizza oven work on a normal kitchen outlet?
+Is an electric pizza oven better than a stone in my regular oven?
Sources for this page





