Head-to-head comparisons

Ooni Koda 2 Max vs Gozney Arc XL

Same peak temperature, same stone thickness, and then the two makers part company completely. One built the widest chamber in the category; the other built the largest oven a person can still pick up.

By Scooter M. · Updated · How we compare

Two outdoor pizza ovens side by side on a patio

The short answer

Buy the Gozney Arc XL unless you specifically need to cook two pizzas at once. Both publish 950 F and both use a 0.8 in cordierite floor, so heat is not the variable. The Koda 2 Max buys you a 20 in pizza, or two 12 in pizzas side by side, for 95 lb and a much higher price. The Arc XL does 16 in at 58.5 lb — 36.5 lb lighter, and the heaviest oven here that one determined adult can still reposition.

These are the top of each maker's gas range and they get compared constantly, usually on price. Price is the least interesting difference. The interesting one is that Ooni and Gozney answered the question "what does a flagship gas oven do?" in two genuinely different ways.

The published figures, side by side

OvenFuelMax pizzaPeak tempStoneWeight
Ooni Koda 2 MaxPropane20"950 F0.8"95 lb
Gozney Arc XLPropane16"950 F0.8"58.5 lb

Published specifications only, from Ooni's and Gozney's own product pages.

Ooni Koda 2 MaxGozney Arc XL
Stone24 x 21 in cordierite, 0.8 inRemovable 0.8 in (20 mm) cordierite
CapacityOne 20 in, two 12 in, or three 10 in at onceOne 16 in
External31" L x 28" W x 17" HW 20.9" x D 24.8" x H 13.5"
Internalnot publishedW 16.8" x D 20.3" x H 6.8"
BurnersTwo, independently controlledSingle lateral rolling flame
InstrumentationOoni Connect digital hub and a food probe, in the boxDigital temperature gauge
Warrantynot published on the listing1 year, 5 years on registration within 60 days

The figures the spec table does not carry, also from each maker's published page.

Two pizzas at once is the only thing separating them on capability

Strip out weight and price and there is exactly one functional difference: the Koda 2 Max has a 24 by 21 in floor and two independently controlled burners, which means two 12 in pizzas can cook side by side at different rates. The Arc XL has one 16.8 in wide chamber and one flame.

That matters for a specific household and almost nobody else. If you regularly feed six or more people, serving pizzas one at a time means the first person has finished before the last one is served, and the fix is either a second oven or a wider one. If you feed four, the Arc XL's single 16 in pizza every 90 seconds is already faster than anyone eats.

Ninety-five pounds is a permanent decision

This is the specification that should decide the purchase, and it is the one people skip.

At 95 lb with a 31 by 28 in footprint, the Koda 2 Max is not something you move between the patio and the garage. It needs a permanent home, a surface that carries the weight, and clearance on every side — the whole checklist in clearances and surfaces. In practice it is a built-in installation that happens not to be built in, which is the same argument built-in or portable works through before you choose any oven.

At 58.5 lb the Arc XL is still heavy — it is the skip on the portable roundup for exactly that reason — but 58.5 lb is a thing one person can shift onto a stand and back off it. 95 lb is two people and a plan.

Quick picks

Ranked for fit, not for hype. Every figure below is the maker’s own published number, and “n/p” means they do not publish it — which is itself worth knowing. Tap a row for the full write-up, or go straight to the listing.

#OvenBest forMax pizzaWeightPrice
1
Ooni Koda 2 Max Propane Gas Pizza Oven
Ooni Koda 2 MaxTwo independently controlled burners under a 24 x 21 in stone.
Cooking for a crowd20"95 lb$1,298.94 · Check on Amazon
2
Gozney Arc XL Propane Outdoor Pizza Oven
Gozney Arc XLA lateral rolling flame and two-layer insulation around a 0.8 in stone.
Heat that survives a fourth pizza16"58.5 lb$998.99 · Check on Amazon

Max pizza and weight are the makers’ published figures, sourced on each write-up below. Neither is a measurement we took, and no column here is a score — we have not cooked on these ovens and will not pretend otherwise.

#ad · how this site is funded · price as of October 15, 2026

Ooni Koda 2 Max Propane Gas Pizza Oven

Top pick · Cooking for a crowd

Ooni Koda 2 Max Propane Gas Pizza Oven

Ooni · Propane

Two independently controlled burners under a 24 x 21 in stone. It is the only oven here that genuinely cooks two different things at two different temperatures, and at 95 lb it is the only one that stops being portable.

$1,298.94 · Check on Amazon

#ad · how this site is funded · price as of October 15, 2026

Published specification

Max temperature
950 F (500 C)
Stone
24 x 21 in cordierite, 0.8 in thick
Capacity
One 20 in pizza, two 12 in, or three 10 in at once
External size
31" L x 28" W x 17" H
Weight
95 lb unboxed
Burners
Two, independently controlled — genuine dual-zone
Included
Ooni Connect digital temperature hub and one food probe

What it does well

  • Dual independent zones are the feature nothing else at this size has: a 60-second Neapolitan on one side while a pan pizza bakes long and low on the other
  • 0.8 in stone across 24 x 21 in stores enough heat that consecutive bakes stop degrading, which is the actual limit on every smaller oven
  • A 20 in pizza means New York style is finally on the menu without cutting the dough down

What you give up

  • 95 lb. This is furniture. Decide where it lives before it arrives, and read the surfaces and clearances guide first
  • The footprint is 31 x 28 in — larger than many patio tables can carry safely, and larger than every small-space recommendation on this site
  • You pay for two burners whether or not you ever run two zones; a single-zone cook does not need this oven

Buy it if

Households who feed six or more people at a time, or anyone who wants one appliance that does 60-second Neapolitan and long-bake pan on the same evening.

Skip it if

Balconies, small patios, and anyone who will need to move the oven between uses.

Gozney Arc XL Propane Outdoor Pizza Oven

Pick 2 · Heat that survives a fourth pizza

Gozney Arc XL Propane Outdoor Pizza Oven

Gozney · Propane

A lateral rolling flame and two-layer insulation around a 0.8 in stone. The Arc XL is the 16 in oven built around heat retention rather than around portability, and it shows on the fourth bake.

$998.99 · Check on Amazon

#ad · how this site is funded · price as of October 15, 2026

Published specification

Max temperature
950 F (500 C)
External size
W 20.9" x D 24.8" x H 13.5"
Internal size
W 16.8" x D 20.3" x H 6.8"
Weight
58.5 lb bare, 73 lb boxed
Stone
Removable 0.8 in (20 mm) cordierite
Flame
Lateral rolling gas flame, digital temperature gauge
Warranty
1 year standard, 5 years on registration within 60 days

What it does well

  • The lateral flame runs along the side rather than across the back, which is why the Arc needs fewer turns than a rear-burner oven of the same size
  • Dense two-layer insulation plus a 0.8 in floor is the combination that holds temperature through consecutive launches
  • 6.8 in of internal height is unusually generous — it is the reason thick-rim and pan styles work here
  • No assembly, and the digital gauge means you are not guessing at stone temperature

What you give up

  • Gozney does not publish a gas input rating either, so burner comparisons against Solo Stove's stated 15,000 BTU are impossible on paper
  • 58.5 lb with no folding legs — it moves, but not casually
  • Propane only; there is no natural-gas variant of the Arc

Buy it if

Anyone who cooks more than two pizzas in a sitting and is tired of waiting for the stone to come back.

Skip it if

Buyers who want wood flavor, or who need to pack the oven into a car.

Where each maker publishes more

Neither is fully open, and they hold back different things.

  • Gozney publishes internal chamber dimensions — 16.8 by 20.3 by 6.8 in — which is the figure that tells you what actually fits and whether you can turn it. Ooni publishes the stone size but not the chamber height on the Max.
  • Gozney publishes a warranty position, one year extending to five on registration within 60 days. Ooni's listing does not state one.
  • Ooni ships instrumentation, a Connect hub and a food probe in the box, where Gozney fits a dial gauge. A probe is a genuinely different class of information.
  • Neither publishes a BTU input rating. In this whole category only Solo Stove and HALO do, which is covered in the brands comparison.

Which one, for which household

  • You feed six or more, regularly, and the oven has a permanent home — Koda 2 Max. Two pizzas at once is the only way to serve a group simultaneously, and nothing else here does it.
  • You feed two to four and want the best gas oven you can still move — Arc XL. Same 950 F, same 0.8 in floor, 36.5 lb less.
  • You want a 16 in oven but not at this price — the Ooni Koda 16 is the long-standing answer, and the 16 inch roundup sets it against the field.
  • You are choosing between the brands rather than the models — Ooni vs Gozney is the page for that.

How these picks were made

We did not cook on these ovens. Every figure on this page is the maker’s or the listing’s published specification, cited on each write-up so you can check it in one click. The ranking comes from matching those published capabilities to a stated use case — space, pizza size, fuel, and how many pizzas you cook in a row. Where a maker does not publish a number, we say so instead of estimating one.

The full version of that argument, including what we deliberately do not claim, is on our methodology page.

Questions people actually ask

+Is the Ooni Koda 2 Max worth the extra over the Gozney Arc XL?
Only for capacity. Both publish 950 F and a 0.8 in cordierite floor, so the heat and the recovery are comparable. What the Max adds is a 24 by 21 in stone that takes a 20 in pizza or two 12 in pizzas at once, plus a second independently controlled burner and a temperature probe. If you will not use the width, you are paying for 36.5 lb you did not want.
+How heavy is the Ooni Koda 2 Max?
Ooni publishes 95 lb unboxed, with a 31 by 28 in footprint. The Gozney Arc XL is 58.5 lb bare and 73 lb boxed. That difference is the practical one: the Arc XL can be repositioned by one person, the Koda 2 Max needs a permanent place.
+Can the Gozney Arc XL cook two pizzas at once?
No. Gozney publishes a 16.8 in wide internal chamber and a 16 in maximum pizza, which is one pizza at a time. Cooking two simultaneously is the Koda 2 Max's single unique capability in this pairing.
+Do both reach 950 F?
Yes — both makers publish 950 F, as does almost every gas oven in this category. Peak temperature separates nothing here, which is why this site ranks on chamber size, stone thickness, weight and burner configuration instead.
+Which has the better warranty?
Gozney, on published terms: one year as standard, extending to five years if you register within 60 days of purchase. Ooni's listing for the Koda 2 Max does not state a warranty period, so we do not report one.

Sources for this page

Individual product figures are sourced on each write-up above.

Read next

Related on head-to-head comparisons

Friends eating together at a backyard table in the evening

Ooni Koda 2 Max: the only oven here that cooks two things at once

Two independent burners, a 24 by 21 in stone, 20 in pizzas — and 95 lb that makes it furniture.

A pizza being launched onto a hot oven stone

Gozney Arc XL: built for the fourth pizza, not the first

0.8 in stone, two-layer insulation and a lateral flame — the specification of an oven built for consecutive bakes.

Two pizzas side by side for comparison

Ooni vs Gozney

The two lineups on published specs — thicker stone against wider range, and the fuel options only one of them sells.

A gas pizza oven on a patio

Ooni Koda 16 vs Gozney Arc XL

The two default 16 in gas ovens: 0.6 vs 0.8 in stone, 40.1 vs 58.5 lb, and one natural-gas option.

A pizza on a wooden peel beside an oven

The best 16 inch pizza ovens

Why 16 in is bought for clearance rather than for 16 in pizzas, and the four ovens that offer it.